Sylhet Division

Sylhet Division

Jul 23, 2016

Sylhet division is the sixth division of Bangladesh. In 1995 Sylhet was announced as a division. Before that Sylhet was a part of Chittagong division. Sylhet division is situated on the North-East part of Bangladesh. Sylhet division is a broad area of hills. It is a tourism city and full of natural beauty. Many intellectuals were born in Sylhet.

Sylhet division is divided into four districts. These are Sylhet, Moulibazar, Habigang and Sunamganj. Sylhet division is consistent with thirty-five Upazila, three hundred and twenty-three union Parishad, ten thousand one hundred and eighty-five villages and fourteen municipalities. There is a list of ten million people living in the Sylhet division. Sylhet division spreads over between twelve thousand five hundred fifty-eight square kilometres. Now it announced as a City Corporation.

Sylhet is traditionally tea mounting area. Srimangal is familiar as the tea capital of Bangladesh. The Surma Valley is roofed with terraces of tea forests and gardens. Over one hundred and fifty gardens are located in the Sylhet division. With seventy-five percent of women worker, there are approximately three 0.3 million people are working in these tea gardens.

The literacy rate of Sylhet is 39.18%. There are many governments and private educational institutions are established in the Sylhet division. There are two public and five private universities are situated in the Sylhet division. A government medical college and hospital also established here.

Both of Muslim and Hindus are living here together. Sylhet division is also known as the land of “awliyas”. Sylhet has the largest focus of Hindus in Bangladesh and is traditionally a vital centre for believers.

The main rivers are the Surma, Kushiyara and Piyain. Sylhet division is also a land port. Sylhet is also an industrial area. A fertilizer factory, two cement factories, one paper mill, a textile mill and so many industries are established in this division. Natural Gas is the main natural resource of the Sylhet division.

Sylhet division is one of the tourism cities of Bangladesh. Every year many visitors come from inside and outside of the country to Sylhet on their holiday. The main attractions of Sylhet division are Hakaluki haor, Bichanakandi, Hail states, Tanguar estates and so many. People can visit Sylhet by bus, train and air from Dhaka City easily.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Bangladesh Information

"Bangladesh Information" is working on the goal of promoting Bangladesh in the world. Let's fulfill Bangladesh Information's goal, you can also raise the country with the help of the Bangladesh Information.